syntax for using non-mass offensive voln symbols feels like 1999 04/12/2015 12:29 AM CDT
I am new to voln, and I tried using "symb dim". Instead of applying the attack either to my current target, or the first create in the room (which is what happens when I use cman sweep, attack, mstrike, mstrike target, incant 410, or anything else I can think of right now), I get back a prompt saying "I could not find what you are referring to".

After some asking around I found out that the monster's name needs to follow "symb dim", like "symb dim mummy".

This is disappointing to me, because I like to have macros free of monster names. Like a macro stanc o/ att/r, or stanc o/r mstr targ/r. That way, my macros work no matter what creature I am fighting. I can always use the target command to switch targets if I don't want to attack the first target in the room. Back in 1999, I would change my macros every time I hunting a new creature, and couldn't adjust if I ran into an unexpected creature (like in an invasion). Hence the title of this post... I cant believe I have to go back to this to make use of the voln symbols that are offensive against a single target???

So, in summary:
1. let me know if I laid this out correctly (I guess I could be missing something)
2. can this be changed to work like all my other attacks?
3. is there a third party software solution if 2 will not happen?

Re: syntax for using non-mass offensive voln symbols feels like 1999 04/12/2015 04:43 AM CDT
simple verbs normally autotarget, complex ones normally don't and it is a pain

kill - autotargets
cman cmanname - typically will work on the current target but return an error message rather than autotargetting if there isn't one

Using "target" in the macro helps to force an autotarget in at least some cases, I don't know if it does for symbol symbolname target.
Re: syntax for using non-mass offensive voln symbols feels like 1999 04/12/2015 05:07 AM CDT

You are now targeting a skeleton.
>symb dim target