GS Ranger for the First Time 01/07/2015 08:16 PM CST

I've been thinking about rolling out a ranger. I played one over in DR for years, but obviously things are very different here in GS. Is this build viable at all? I'd like her to be an open archer that is good at survival skills and foraging and she will be joining GoS. Eventually I'd like her to be able to do rods etc. I have never done a semi before and it just feels like I'm a little all over the place. Any advice or help would be most appreciated.

Race: Sylvan

Stats:
str 80
con 50
dex 80
agi 70
dis 70
aur 70
log 70
int 80
wis 70
inf 20

2x Perception
2x Ranged
1x Armor (till brig)
1x Dodge
1.5 PT (GoS)
.5x Clim
.5x Swim
1x Survival
1x FA
1x Spells
.5x MIU
.5x HP

I noticed while posting this up that I had not planned for cmans at all. How important are they with an open archer build? Can you do both survival (skinning and foraging) and magic and be an effective hunter? Or am I going to have to pick one or the other?

Thoughts?
Re: GS Ranger for the First Time 01/07/2015 10:30 PM CST
the first thing to know about rangers is that you really really have to try hard to screw them up. Your build looks good besides a couple skill tweaks. Stats i let others give their opinions. These are personal opinions and really your skill layout will work. I would get 2x dodge for more ds. I would drop miu for now and get 1x HP if you intend to use spells offensively. Cmans for archery is not great. You could use feint or dirtkick to help with crowd control or cdefense to help against cmams. Spells i went 640 the. 130 then ranger on out. Other then that rest of your questions yes you can be good at skinning magic and hunting at the same time.
Re: GS Ranger for the First Time 01/08/2015 04:27 AM CST