Evade/block/parry system is redundant and unnecessary 06/30/2016 01:49 PM CDT
I've been procrastinating this post for 42387402 years, and I doubt anything will become of it, but considering the fact that DS already serves this function (parry & shield DS from weapon & shield training, missing an attack says "a clean miss" which is no different than evading, etc), old GM posts explaining RT as (paraphrasing) "simulating a series of ripostes, parries, blocks, etc.") how is EBP not redundant and unnecessary?

It's nice when you EBP a critter attack and all, despite the fact that in most cases your DS would have caused them to miss anyway without EBP being a factor. But that still doesn't make the system itself any less redundant, and isn't nearly worth the annoyance of a critter EPB'ing your attacks, especially when it happens 2-3+ times in a row. Even more ridiculous when they're evading things like lightning bolts, which makes no sense because nobody is going to react to something faster than the speed of light. Even then, it's twice as annoying for weapon users.

Maybe it's just me, but it seems like this just adds another layer of tedium to combat that shouldn't be there and is a completely unnecessary mechanic that for all intents and purposes already existed via parry/shield DS.

~ Methais
Re: Evade/block/parry system is redundant and unnecessary 06/30/2016 02:07 PM CDT
Seen from the other side, though, it's awfully nice evading (or blocking, or parrying) several incoming attacks in a row without ever even seeing an AS/DS check, when your spells are starting to melt off. Or you're at reduced effectiveness due to being down on Spirit by too much (from Undead combat drain, yeah, that's it).
(Just a couple of situations, for example.)

<shrug>

Not fighting to keep it, but willing to acknowledge that there are benefits to be seen from our side, as well as detriments.
Re: Evade/block/parry system is redundant and unnecessary 07/01/2016 07:49 AM CDT