Target Random 03/29/2016 06:10 PM CDT
What part of "Target Random" is random?

I've been using the following script for casting Balefire:

put target random
put stance offensive
put incant 713

The first time I run the script in a room with multiple critters, it always targets the first critter in the room. If critters come and go, then the second time I run the script in the same room, it always targets the same critter as the first time I cast, even if that critter is no longer the first critter.

Is there some other setting I need to change to get a random target?

Despite the fact that I've been playing this game a long time, I am fairly new to the target and incant stuff. I mostly use prep and cast, which seems to work well with CS spells. For bolt spells, though, I like the incant system better.
Re: Target Random 03/31/2016 05:06 AM CDT
Its not random, just not deliberately chosen by you. If you want genuine randomisation, you'll need your own script to do it for you.
Re: Target Random 03/31/2016 06:08 AM CDT
My reply is almost off-topic but, is there a reason you want a random target as opposed to an explicit one?

I agree targeting :something: in the room is good. Especially if you want to kill X and Y walks in the room and you blindly incant you will usually hit Y (like you said, it usually goes for the first thing in the room).

So, kind of a philosophical question, but why do you want a random target?

I'm definitely with you that because "target random" exists well, it ought to do what it says it does, I just never saw the point of it.

The deathbot will come back eventually.

>Daid: Pretty sure you have a whole big bucket as your penny jar. You never have only two cents. :p
Re: Target Random 03/31/2016 08:34 AM CDT

<< So, kind of a philosophical question, but why do you want a random target? >>