Pures, the historic problem child of Gemstone. 09/09/2010 06:13 PM CDT
As I was posting in a different topic in the Wizard folder about something I have a vested interest in as a player, it suddenly occured to me the sort of decisions involving Game Balance generally happen against the favor of pure classes.

Since as long as I can remember playing Gemstone, my opinon and observation has always been that the pure classes are better than the square and semi classes. I did hear that once upon a time pures were TERRIBLE (I'm talking GS2 GEnie days here when ICE was still around, which I wasn't present for, but know someone who was and even has a street named after her old PC), plagued with barren spell lists and ineffective means by which to use the ones they did have. By the time I started playing in mid '94, this was not the case. Pures were absolutely the best group of classes available, and I think they still are. Why?

1 : Shorter roundtimes or non*-*hindering roundtimes (casting roundtime) for spellcasting actions.

The ability to attack every 3 seconds instead of every 5 (or more) turns in to a lot. A square hits 3 times in 15 seconds and a pure hits 5 times in 15 seconds. Does the square do more damage? Maybe. Is the square more vulnerable while doing this damage? Definately.

2 : Access to defensive spells negating the most predominant source of difficulty for any PC, the AS*/*DS calculation.

Most any pure worth their salt is able to generate enough DS to render nearly all AS/DS calculations irrelevant. What does that leave then?

CS/TD? This is generally only a problem when you are in an opposing realm and without outside spells IE: spiritual vs elemental.