Vaalor Culture 06/12/2014 10:29 AM CDT
Hi All,

I had a few(many) questions about Vaalor Elves and Elves in general that I couldn't seem to find good answers to in the documentation. I will admit I am not the best at that. I'm hoping to flesh out a backstory for my Vaalor Elves that makes sense and isn't over the top. I have zero knowledge of RL military structure for comparison.

1. If the Vaalor mandatory military service period is 100 years, would most elves serve more once given that they live so long? Would it be reasonable to assume those 100 year stretches are not contiguous? If so, what would happen to rank/position in the interim? At what age to elves typically begin their first 100 years? Are there any documents detailing the airship divisions in actual practice?

2. If playing from a family with a prominent military background, is it too much to assume you'd previously served in an officer position, skipping the entire enlisted structure? If so, is there a comprehensive list of important personnel I should highlight so I don't look like a total fool when I fail to recognize an important officer? I did see the little chart on Krakii and used that to make some highlights, but not sure if it's up to date or all inclusive.

3. What kind of fertility range do elves have? Would it be normal for siblings to be centuries apart in age?

4. Any advice on how to play a 400+ year old character without looking like the village idiot because you're scrambling to absorb lore info would be fantastic. Clunk was kind enough to take my paladin on a tour or Li'Aerion which was wonderful, but in general it's hard to justify sitting down for story-time lessons. Other races in particular.

Thanks for any clarity you can provide!

- Eruya/Erelim
Re: Vaalor Culture 06/12/2014 01:01 PM CDT
I don't have the answers, but good questions!

GM Scribes
Re: Vaalor Culture 06/12/2014 06:53 PM CDT
That is not a good sign!

- Eruya/Erelim
Re: Vaalor Culture 06/12/2014 08:00 PM CDT