Help with katana! 09/28/2004 12:44 AM CDT
I got one of the new styles vaalorn katanas from the hut. And this happens when I assess it:

assess my kat
You assess the katana for structural weaknesses and strengths.

Careful examination indicates the vaalorn katana has a base strength of 85 and a base durability of 255. You also determine the current integrity of the vaalorn katana to be at 100.0%.

For some reason, you can't seem to get a feel for the katana.

Why can't I get a feel for it? Aone and other people have told me "I'm not good at assessing". But I know this isn't the case..

You remove a battle-marred warlord's katana from in your claidhmore harness.
>assess my kat
You sense a strange quality about the katana, almost as if the sword is aware of your touch.

You assess the katana for structural weaknesses and strengths.

Careful examination indicates the warlord's katana has a base strength of 75 and a base durability of 225. You also determine the current integrity of the warlord's katana to be at 100.0%.

Checking out the katana, it looks like it's weighted to inflict more critical blows.

Roundtime: 22 sec.

That's the 0x quest one.
Re: Help with katana! 09/28/2004 02:05 AM CDT
Because the quest katanas are flagged with scripts and shows so you wont get a read assessing.

It's a pain in the ass and a lot of merchants that add extra 'flare' to thier weapons and armors will cause that to happen. It becomes a guessing game... and if you go to any merchants now a days note the properties so you wont forget them in the future. I know I wish I had so I would know what half my stuff does.

Xatier
Re: Help with katana! 09/28/2004 02:09 AM CDT
I'm sure that info is helpful for those who didn't know (me) about it.

But if you see from his post he gets a different reading from his altered-quest katana then from the hut katana.