Heavy Attacks and Magic? 05/23/2016 12:40 PM CDT
Hello. I'm pretty new to DR and have a question. On the forums I've read mention of Heavy TM spells and Heavy/Alpha attacks. But I have been unable to find out any actually information on what these are. Could anyone shed some light on this? Or point me to the right place to read up on it?

Thanks
Re: Heavy Attacks and Magic? 05/23/2016 12:56 PM CDT
Without knowing any background you have in other online games:

Heavy TM: conceptually this is a very large damage spell, typically with secondary effects, that is on a 5+ minute cooldown.

Alpha strike: This is similar, but not limited to target magic. Backstab is the most common example. The first backstab has a damage and accuracy boost. Subsequent backstabs do not have this. I'm a bit fuzzy on DR's logic here, I can't remember the cool down on alpha strike.

Diminshing returns: this primarily effects debilitation spells and stun effects. For example, mental blast or barbarian roars; once you effect a target with a specific effect (let's use stun), every time you effect that target with a similar ability (stun) the stun lasts less time.

So if you mental blast a target, it might last 10 seconds. If you hit them again as soon as it wears off, it might last 8. This decrease will continue until you get almost no effect. Note that the numbers are ENTIRELY MADE UP. It's not 10 seconds or a 20% penalty each time.
Re: Heavy Attacks and Magic? 05/23/2016 01:00 PM CDT
Awesome. Thanks for the info. I was afraid it was a special way of casting a typical spell or using a normal ability. IE cast Fire Shards heavy. Or feint heavy. But like I said I couldn't find any detailed info on it.

Thanks again.
Re: Heavy Attacks and Magic? 05/23/2016 01:00 PM CDT