What?! 04/11/2009 11:23 AM CDT
>> Your mind hears Ehku thinking, "If Grendels aren't undead, why does my dinezen olkar spell collapse because of their undead nature?"
>> Your mind hears Aristarchos thinking, "because you're casting at min prep Ehku."

I've been playing DR since 2000, and I never knew this. I tried casting FRS on a grendel once, got the 'fails due to undeadness' message, and assumed that TM spells just didn't work on undead critters, and have operated under that knowledge ever since. I must've gone up and down the WTH list a thousand times saying to myself "Hmm, what about this...nope, undead" and so on.

Although it feels good to finally be enlightened, I'm not sure whether to laugh or cry.

~Asclepto

"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
Re: What?! 04/11/2009 11:29 AM CDT
IIRC, technically they're both right. Undead/cursed have higher MR, which is overcome by higher prep. Grendels aren't necessarily undead, but cursed.

-TG, TG, & GL, et al.
Re: What?! 04/11/2009 02:03 PM CDT
In my head I just split up everything into ghosts and zombies. If it's a ghost you don't/can't use magic and if it's a zombie just amp up the mana.

Ghosts being anything that's spirit, spectral, transparent etc. Basically almost everything requiring a bless.

Zombies being everything else that would fit in the undead or cursed categories.

The popular terms most people use IG are non-corporal and corporal undead.

We had a war mage meeting last week and a LOT of people didn't know that. So laugh and don't cry.

http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n142/Sirzason/wmsheet2.jpg

a black panther comes flying into view! it hits the ground, bouncing once before sliding to a stop.
A black panther is stunned!
Re: What?! 04/11/2009 04:29 PM CDT
"In my head I just split up everything into ghosts and zombies. If it's a ghost you don't/can't use magic and if it's a zombie just amp up the mana.