Week 12-What do you want to be when you grow up? 04/20/2005 05:23 AM CDT
Greetings!

I still haven't figured out the answer to this one myself. I still tell people I don't know what I want to be when I grow up.
This week's question is: What profession would you be if you had the chance and know what you know now? No cheating on this one and saying you are already!

I've been a nurse and owned a small business for a few years but I always wanted to be a lawyer. I know, I know...no lawyer jokes. Unfortunately law school didn't fit into the mothers plan which was for me to be a nurse. I've always said someday...but it's still not arrived.

Player of Couri
Re: Week 12-What do you want to be when you grow up? 04/20/2005 06:01 AM CDT
If I could be something completely unrealistic (for me), I'd be a fashion/costume designer. Yes, I tend to be quite the geek, but I'm such a girl. I'm always utterly amazed at the fantasy/period clothing designed for movies (LOTR, Ever After, Vanity Fair, etc) and wish I could sew more than a simple skirt.

There's a career somewhat within my reach, but I just can't bring myself to follow it -- optometry. I've worn glasses since age 6 (really, really thick ones) and everyone always said I'd be an eye doctor when I grew up. Ever since I had LASIK surgery three years ago, I've been in love. I now work for an ophthalmologist and my husband is in optometry school. But for me to become an O.D. myself... I just don't see it happening. I'd still have to finish my undergraduate degree for three more years and then undergo four years of optometry school. By the time I graduated, I wouldn't have any time to have a life. I'm hoping to travel a lot and then start a family, and by that time it'd be much later than I'm hoping. So I'll just live vicariously through my husband and work alongside him in his practice when he graduates.

~ the player of Gypsy Merchant Nabihle

"Come fairies, take me out of this dull world,