Animal Lore 04/16/2012 02:24 PM CDT
Is there a good way for us traders to learn animal lore? Preferably something that I can do while on the trade route. Any tips are appreciated, thanks!
Re: Animal Lore 04/16/2012 03:12 PM CDT
Feed your caravan.
Re: Animal Lore 04/16/2012 05:19 PM CDT
The best way for anyone (possibly except Rangers) to learn Animal Lore is via fishing. Get yourself a pole and bait (or find one of the locations that provide them), cast, wait three seconds, pull in -- rinse and repeat. Sometimes you'll catch fish, and when you do it trains your Foraging and Animal Lore. I trained Animal Lore to 70ish as a lore prime this way, and it worked pretty well. It's still not an easy skill to lock, but it's doable.

As a Trader, I believe you can sell your catches afterward for a small amount of Trading exp.

I know Aesry has free poles/bait by the central lake, and I think Crossing does too (in a premie-only area?), as do some of the boats to the islands. I believe Lang and Ratha both have bait shops. If you want to fish somewhere else you will need to stock up on bait, but if you do that then you can fish pretty much anywhere.

However, why are you trying to learn Animal Lore? You realize that in X3.0, Animal Lore will combine with Foraging to become Outdoorsmanship. Any "extra" skill you have will become "bonus bits" (likely in your survival pool), which will aid you in training survival skills over time, until they are used up. So unless you are really hankering for some survival pool bonus bits, it would be a lot easier to simply train Foraging.

-- Player of Eyuve
Re: Animal Lore 04/17/2012 06:27 AM CDT
Animal Lore: 51 50.54% clear (0/34)

Feeding caravans only. Don't bother, it's a useless skill and will die soon.
Re: Animal Lore 04/17/2012 04:39 PM CDT
>>>Animal Lore: 51 50.54% clear (0/34)

>>>Feeding caravans only.

Seriously? I stopped learning animal lore for feeding my caravan at 19.xx ranks... weird.
Re: Animal Lore 04/17/2012 05:11 PM CDT