Shady Characters 07/11/2005 09:33 PM CDT
Hiya. This is my first time on the forums, but I feel like I have a good story to tell. It's not exactly about why I joined, but it is about why I like this guild. And it's all true, IG.
I was in the guild getting lectured by Kalag on why i'm not good enough to be promoted when "A dark Assassin" arrived and proceeded to the common area at the top of the benches. Intrigued, I followed him. He was like a creature to look at (It seems to be in good shape. It is carrying a light crossbow.) There were four of us in the room at the time, but one was in thoughts and the other left shortly after, so for the purposes of this story it was me Zeolus. The assassin informed us that he had a mission for us, which entailed tracking down a certain trader who had gotten hold of a certain Ambika item which she was not supposed to have. He sent us out to negotiate its return. Unfortunately for the trader, she didn't know what she had or refused to give it up. Not long after, we saw her being dragged to the Clerics' guild, one secret item lighter, with a bolt lodged in her chest.
We discreetly tracked the trader down again after it was over, to watch the rest of the drama play out. In about four minutes time, the traders had woven an elaborate story trying to explain what had happened. It had something to do with either a thief or an unscrupulous trader, who sold the weapon, then hired an assassin to steal it back. Maybe you had to be there, but it really was quite funny to watch them try to figure out who the Assassin was and why he did the things he did.
It's this kind of thing that makes our guild special. True, we're not as secretive as we were in the old days, but the thieves do still scare the other guilds. They have no idea what we can do, and everyone fears the unknown. At some point, I've been a member of every guild, and none can match the allure of the shadows.

~Ehm
Re: Shady Characters 07/11/2005 11:26 PM CDT