Why did you pick Rakash? 06/26/2015 07:42 AM CDT
Inspired by the conversation over within the Prydaen folder, I was curious why folks here picked a Rakash?

I had a Rakash long, long ago, and I'm returning to the game and still haven't picked my race. I don't really remember why I picked Rakash in detail, just that it was a newer race and I wanted something different. I was a Rakash Trader, which in retrospect was a really odd choice.

Rakash are the least popular race, any thoughts as to why?
Re: Why did you pick Rakash? 06/26/2015 08:03 AM CDT
Most recently, I picked Rakash because I knew I wanted to play Moon Mage and I thought the connection to Katamba was a natural lead-in to my character becoming interested in learning more about the moons and astrology. I also like the character concept of my Rakash turning to expertise outside the pack to understand more about himself.

The first Rakash I played (like a friggin' decade ago), I can't remember if I picked the race because of the guild or vice versa. I either wanted to play a Paladin, and the concept of a Rakash working to learn to defend others (in his pack) appealed to me, or I wanted to play a Rakash dedicated to the defense of his pack, and Paladin was a natural fit.

I was thinking about the relative lack of popularity for Rakash. I think part of it is that it is a newer race, and a lot of characters have been around for a long time, but that argument gets less convincing as the years wear on. Another thing that I think, though, is that a lot of people that want to play an "animal race" will gravitate toward Prydaen, since they're fuzzy all the time. Rakash are seldom hairy, so most of the time we're just weird humans.

~Kashik
Re: Why did you pick Rakash? 06/26/2015 09:33 AM CDT
>>Rakash are the least popular race, any thoughts as to why?

Because the change between human/moonskin happening at the wrong time can ruin your day.
Re: Why did you pick Rakash? 06/26/2015 10:17 AM CDT