New and Curious about Forging 02/16/2015 10:54 AM CST
Hello,
I am very new to the game and I was reading through the Elanthipedia and saw a lot of info on Forging. I like the idea of my young Paladin being able to craft his own armor and weapons, but is it really something that's going to be viable from the start? Also, it looks like it might be something of a money sink. What would I need to get started and when will it be viable for me to actually start using my own gear (as opposed to store-bought)?
Re: New and Curious about Forging 02/16/2015 12:01 PM CST
>>Also, it looks like it might be something of a money sink.<<

not really you will need a small amount of start capital and buy a few things. Work orders will soon pay for your gear and repairing them until you can repair your own.
I average about 1000 plats a week making armor.

M@c ~]X!j % %AN_rrWB5z4%p rBa =jZb*h[mp,0;pv` knIM%aJ|
WARNING: You are carrying an extremely large number of items on your person.
Having a very high number of items can cause character corruption or
Re: New and Curious about Forging 02/16/2015 12:18 PM CST
>a small amount of start capital and buy a few things

Yup, after the initial investment for an instruction book, tools, consumables (brushes, oils, etc.), and some raw metal to work with. You can generally start turning profit from square one. If you do your own mining, you can save yourself money by using the raw metal that you are able to dig up yourself. Likewise, if you invest in some high appraisal metals or dig them up yourself, you can maximize the payout from each work order you turn in.

Depending on the item you're making (how many volumes it takes, how difficult it is, how many you have to make, and how well you can make it) there is a lot of opportunity to make a significant amount of money. And since you need to use the skill anyways to train it, might as well use it during work orders and gain some profit while you train it.