When can you begin forging? 06/19/2009 11:45 AM CDT
I'm fairly new to the realms, just having hit 10th circle recently. I chose the path of the Paladin in part for eventually forging armor. I've read up on as much information I can find, but the one big question I still have is "When can I reasonably start?" Of course I realize anything I could make early on would probably pale in comparison to vendor-bought armor.

Right now the attendant won't even allow me to enter the Paladin forge in the Crossing ("Experienced holy brethren only"), and I'm sure my strength and stamina (both 15) would make pounding take forever, if not dangerously so. I am trying to keep my Mech Lore and Appraisal up with my armor skills (they're actually both a few ranks ahead of my Heavy Plate right now), but I'd appreciate any advice anyone has as far as skill/stat direction for when the time comes.
Re: When can you begin forging? 06/19/2009 02:46 PM CDT
200 Forging Factor is a good number to keep in mind for starting.

Madigan

Free the Paladin Guild in 2009.
Re: When can you begin forging? 06/19/2009 03:45 PM CDT
>I am trying to keep my Mech Lore and Appraisal up with my armor skills

Keeping your Mech Lore up with be paramount if/when the new crafting system comes out, as your success will likely be from your Smithing ranks (converted from your ML ranks).

Aveda's Field Guide- http://dr.aveda.googlepages.com
Re: When can you begin forging? 06/22/2009 04:06 PM CDT
>200 Forging Factor is a good number to keep in mind for starting.

Not sure that's a good help at this point, maybe you should get a bit more remedial? I personally have a rough idea on ranks, but no clue what FF actually combines at what weights.
Re: When can you begin forging? 06/22/2009 05:31 PM CDT
I think greaves are the easiest to forge. You'll be able to completely those before other things. Of course, there's a chance of breakage with any amount of skill.
Re: When can you begin forging? 06/22/2009 06:28 PM CDT