Re: First debilitation spell? 10/22/2014 06:48 PM CDT
I know you deleted your post/question, but I spent quite a while typing out a long response to it only to discover it had been deleted while typing it out... so you're getting it anyway! :p

<<So I'm a newbie Moon Mage. I've gotten the CV, PG, Shadows, FM, and DO spells. So I've got every skill covered except Debilitation. I was thinking about getting Dazzle but I could also get Calm. I don't know which is better for training Debilitation. Any suggestions between those two? Or possibly something else entirely.

For the two you specifically asked about:

Calm
This can be horrible for teaching debilitation because the creatures often leave the room while under its effects, although you can counter it by immediately attacking the creature you just calmed. It is indispensible as a pre-req for important spells later on, so I recommend getting it now and dealing with the training issues until you can get a better disabler. I.e. Sleep and eventually Mental Blast and Mind Shout.

Dazzle
This teaches well... when it is available. It requires the sun, Yavash, or Xibar in the sky, but the greater restriction is it cannot be cast when indoors without a window. It's not a bad spell at all, but I chose not to learn it for the time being because I can use DO as a prerequisite for the same spells and our other disablers have less restrictions on their use.

Other options you might consider instead:

Rend
Rend is a very easy to use trainer of Debilitation, because it doesn't have a duration and can be repeatedly spammed on the same creature for full experience. The downside is that the effect is highly situational (i.e. mostly PvP) so you won't actually be getting a functional use out of your disabling most of the time.

Sleep