New Player Guides 09/29/2003 08:03 PM CDT
Okay, I've got a few contests for everyone:

First, a new player guide to the Moon Mage Guild. Everything you need to know to be a Moon Mage, up to the first 10 circles. One exception: I'll be handling a guide to the div tools, so your guide only needs to deal with OBSERVE and PREDICT.

What I'll be looking for:
COMPLETENESS - If you forget to mention that Moon Mages can cast spells, that's a problem.
SECRETS - No spilling secrets, though you can say that something is a secret/puzzle/quest. For instance, you can say that getting to the third floor is a puzzle, but don't solve it for the reader.
ACCURACY - This can be a tough one, because our guild is filled with grey areas. Basically, don't present it as fact if it's a theory. Mostly, this would apply to prediction.
AUDIENCE - The most useful guide will be geared towards the COMPLETE newbie. Feel free to include basic syntax, points of Moon Mage etiquette, and anything else that may be useful to someone who's never played DragonRealms, or for that matter, any MUD. Best bet is to focus on the Moon Mage specific stuff, though. Folks who help newbies can tell you that many need to be taught how to PREP, CAST, PERC, HARNESS etc.
MISC - Anything I haven't mentioned but would be useful or necessary for a guide for new Mages.

Second, "Everything you always wanted to know about sects but were afraid to ask." (Working title).

This will be broken down by sect. You can write an overview of more than one sect, but each will be considered on its own, and you can certainly just write one about the sect you're most familiar with.

What I'll be looking for:
Sect Philosophy - Given the nature of sects, this should be fairly self-explanatory. What separates this sect from others.