Prev_page Previous 1
Katana time 01/14/2005 10:31 AM CST
So I see em poppin up now(I know of two of them for SURE), are we gonna do the Eastern style stuff now. We gonna have ninja swords, throwing items, samurai armor, and all that Japanese stuff.

Valgar
Re: Katana time 01/14/2005 11:22 AM CST
Nope. Katanas are a rare exception.

Arcelebor

"Back off, man. I'm a scientist."
Re: Katana time 01/14/2005 01:26 PM CST
This would be an interesting topic to see how this gets justified hehe.
Re: Katana time 01/21/2005 04:34 PM CST
We do have origami...

> I see dead people...<

Vote for Pedro
Re: Katana time 02/05/2005 12:59 PM CST
Elotheans are an extremely Asian culture (rice food, silks, kimono-type garb, sushi, so forth). I'm not sure there's any reason not to throw some Asian flair into DR.

~Kashik

"Consider your bottom... two... little corn-cob spiky handle things."
~Mean Maelona Morlamgar
Re: Katana time 02/07/2005 08:08 PM CST
The only arguement I can think of that might be made against katanas is someone saying they want to keep real life cultural elements out of the game. Of course this can be easily dispelled as it is the same case as saying a Claymore is Europeon. And the previous post where right. They are putting things like oragami into the game. As for throwing items, they already got a few. I always pictured my throwing spike as a kunai.

Kunai - http://home.netyou.jp/kk/sakura/sozai/gazo/kunai/kunai11.jpg

They could easily put (dai)katanas into the game also. Would probably be like a claymore but with no impact and little more balance?

I would love to see Katanas in the game for many reasons. One it goes with my character sketch. But I would hate to see fan boys start running around, kinda like the person that bought Galain, yelling stuff from Dragonball Z and yelling "baka" cause its the only Japanese they know.

watshi wa daikatana ga daisuki desu!

I was born once as a dying races last resort, I was strong.