Problem with compendium learning? 01/12/2010 03:29 AM CST
I recently performed the following experiment, to confirm something I've suspected for a while.

Scholarship 243
Compendium containing Dwarven, Elothean, Elven, Human, Kaldar, Prydaen, Rakash, S'Kra Mur, Silver Leucro and Snow Goblin charts.

I began with no scholarship experience. I studied every chart. Every chart required only a single study, and scholarship did not pulse during the process. At the end, my scholarship had moved from 0/34 to 8/34.

I then waited for my scholarship to clear again. I did not gain a rank during this time. I put up a capped Faenella's Grace (approximately 90 rank scholarship boost) and studied every chart. Every chart required only a single study, and scholarship did not pulse during the process. At the end, my scholarship had moved from 0/34 to 5/34.

(I actually had to repeat this process multiple times to get a run without scholarship pulsing. The rejected runs gave very similar results.)

The conclusion seems to be that a bonus to scholarship causes me to learn less per study. I thought bonuses didn't do that?
Re: Problem with compendium learning? 01/12/2010 08:05 AM CST
You may want to trade the silver leucro chart for something else, since it is one of the easiest charts.

Good luck!

Sometimes the key to happiness is not assuming it is locked in the first place- Ziggy

A journey of a thousand SMILES begins with a single step- Ziggy
Re: Problem with compendium learning? 01/12/2010 08:20 AM CST
8 racial charts is also a little much in my opinion. I keep only 6 or 7 racials.

All racial charts are on the same difficulty level (125 scholarship?) and is probably a good contributing factor to lowered experience at your scholarship.

My thief has just around 300 scholarship and I'm doing up to Rock Trolls with that char.

Moon mage has 447 scholarship working up to Gidii.