Prev_page Previous 1 3
AFK scripting question! 02/05/2013 08:45 AM CST
I've only been able to play in short bursts lately. The last week or so I've more or less spent 20-30 minutes locking a couple of skills and then going afk for 40 minutes while my exp drains and coming back and relocking them. Tonight I started training my FA with a pet bleeder along with my other skills.

My question is, if I go into sleep mode so I don't gain any new experience and run a script to tend my bleeder while I'm afk, does "not dying while afk" fall under the "beneficial to your character" part of the afk scripting policy?
Re: AFK scripting question! 02/05/2013 09:06 AM CST
If you're tending your wound while AFK then you're actively gaining experience and thus afk scripting and breaking policy. You don't even have to script to be considered "afk scripting", if you leave a cyclical spell up while afk you can get busted since you're gaining experience while afk.
Re: AFK scripting question! 02/05/2013 09:13 AM CST
>>if I go into sleep mode so I don't gain any new experience

Reading is fun. S/he is not gaining EXP.

I'd just say this is incredibly dangerous. It is possible to wake up from "Sleep" and it's also possible to get an infection, get 20 bleeders and die.

Heal the bleeder, getting a new one is pretty easy.

Player of Diggan, Ranger & Halfing of Aesry
Re: AFK scripting question! 02/05/2013 09:14 AM CST
AFAIK, you're allowed to stay logged in AFK to drain experience. You're not allowed to gain new experience while not at the keyboard. I don't know how the sleep mechanics are working these days, but in times past doing something that would have gained experience a couple times in a row would knock you back out of the sleep mode, cause you to gain new experience and run you afoul of the AFK scripting policy. IMO the best bet would be to not go afk with a pet bleeder tending script active and maybe switch to anatomy charts for FA learning and ditch the pet bleeder all together.