Warding Learning? 12/24/2012 10:42 AM CST
I'm finding a capped AA (50 mana) teaches way better than a capped SP for me (30 mana). One is a basic and the other is an advanced. Shouldnt it be the other way around in terms of learning, or is the mana difference that big of a difference?
Re: Warding Learning? 12/24/2012 11:37 AM CST
AA is actually intro, otherwise that sounds about right. If you cast them at the same mana you should see SP teach better I'd expect (Though I'm not an expert on how exp works in new magic).

-Raesh

"Ever notice that B.A.'s flavor text swells in direct proportion to how much one of our characters is getting screwed?" - Brian Van Hoose
Re: Warding Learning? 12/24/2012 12:16 PM CST
Hrmm I suppose then this is the question

Advanced spells max mana will always (until very high skill) have a lower mana cap then basic or intro spells.
Then I guess for training, if mana is not an issue (i.e running out of harness) it would seem your better off using intro/basic spells.

This could be very false based off the following

1) I dont know what im talking about. Likely
2) Each tier has a point where it tapers off and teaches less. Given this new model is meant to scale magic up to 1000+ ranks well, it could be that my magic skills are comparatively a joke, so I'm still in a tier where 'basic' spells are actually the best ways to learn.
3) Harness is more of an issue than I can tell. Being on 3.0 with HEALME can make testing a bit subjective, so I'll need to do some better testing.

What I did realize is that at least for my magic skills (mid 200's) that the only real way to work Utility was with TR going. Casting Anti Stun was not very efficient.
Re: Warding Learning? 12/24/2012 12:34 PM CST
By default (Since we can tweak any spell off the default values) all non cyclic spells cap at 100 currently, intro through esoteric. Only the min values change.

-Raesh