Returning Player, need FE help with Mac 04/16/2019 02:02 PM CDT
Hi there. I’m a returning player, looking for some help with front end setup. I’m trying to play on a MacBook Pro running OS 10.14.4 (Mojave). The last time I played consistently I was using a slightly older MacBook which has since been stolen. On that machine, I was using Warlock and I really liked it, but there was significant difficulty in getting it set up. Once I did however, the game ran fine and I was able to save my macros, highlight strings and scripts without too many issues. There was some significant bugginess but I was usually able to work around this and ran the game fine for years.

On the new machine, I haven’t yet been able to get a FE setup that makes the game seem like something I want to pay for again. I’m not a computer programmer and am pretty ignorant when it comes to the ins and outs of software. I’m looking for some information and opinions regarding the best way to run the game with the FE features I’m looking for. Below is a list of some of the stuff I’ve tried, and the issues I’ve had:

Warlock2 (older version): This is front end that I’ve used the most and historically had the most luck with. I installed warlock from a backup I had from my previous machine, which is probably a version I downloaded somewhere around 2012. I’m able to access the game, load my scripts, and set macros. However, none of my settings save when I close the app, with exception of my window layout and fonts. Can’t figure out how to get them to persist. Also, trying to set column fonts causes the app to crash.

Warlock (downloaded most recent version, 2016?): App won’t run at all, getting dialog saying it’s not compatible.

Avalon: App runs, and I’m able to access the game. Doesn’t seem to be a way to add windows like assess, active spells, etc. Lack of meters is a negative, as I really got used to them in warlock. Floating windows are not my favorite.